Ohio law requires all manufactured home buyers to register their homes with the County Auditor within 30 days or pay a $100 fine. Once registered, the Auditor’s Office assesses the manufactured home—using one of two appraisal methods depending on the age of the structure—and adds it to the manufactured home tax list so that tax bills can be sent out semi-annually. These taxes are collected by the county and distributed back to the local taxing districts (schools, townships, etc.) in the same manner as real estate taxes. However, unlike real estate taxes which are paid one year in arrears, manufactured home taxes are paid for the current year.
The law also requires manufactured homeowners to obtain a moving permit from the County Auditor prior to moving their manufactured home to another location or pay a $100 fine.
Manufactured homeowners who also own the land on which their manufactured home is placed may wish to convert the home to real estate. To do so, the home must be affixed on a permanent foundation, all taxes must be paid, and the title must be surrendered to the Auditor's Office along with the completed form below.
Ross County, Ohio Auditor